Planning Under the Influence

And just like that, it’s a new year. Happy New Year everyone!

I started posts in November and December, but they didn’t seem to go anywhere. Words felt inadequate and there were already so many in the world, most of them conveying news I could barely comprehend. When I tried to write, my thoughts would wander off the page and into wilderness or image, taking refuge.

This tendency really ramped up when I signed up for an eight-week drawing class at Pratt Fine Arts Center. I had never taken any kind of formal art class and while I expected to be terrified, I just…wasn’t. I was excited. My buddy Ed also took it and we’d meet up every Friday morning to spend three hours intensively examining various subjects and trying to faithfully replicate them as we learned about contours, movement, shading, scale and perspective. I absolutely loved the class and our teacher, Robin Walker, looked forward to it every week and even when the subject matter of the day was not to my liking (self-portraits TWICE, ugh), enjoyed the process and most of the time, the outcome.

Sketch of fruit bowl, vase, flower

Final drawing project. This piece took a ton of time…I’ll never look at still lifes the same again.

Which was a rarity for me. I’ve struggled mightily with creative endeavors, wanting so badly to produce something good and always being disappointed. I would try to remind myself that it takes time to get good at things, and I shouldn’t quit after one attempt, but instead I’d just get discouraged and give up. I don’t know what finally changed – maybe the realization that I don’t have as much time in my life to waste on giving up on myself – but I seem to have arrived at a place where I’m willing to work at things, grapple with the challenges, quiet the inner judgment, and acknowledge my progress when I improve.

I also realized my right brain was finally getting a chance to run things. And I liked being in that space. It’s so different from the constant bullying left-brain which wants to make lists, cross things off, categorize and tell stories (often times unkind ones about what a piece of crap I am) and just be its practical, get-shit-done, self. Which we need, of course, if bills are to get paid and chores done and groceries restocked. But we also need time to just be, to ease up on the daily planning and achieving mode.

“What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.”  – Ralph Waldo Emerson

What’s interesting for me this past year is that I actually did use a weekly planner for the first time in…ever? My only recollection of using one is that I’d get all excited at the possibilities, use it for a month or two, and then forget about it. But at the end of 2016, which was exceedingly hard for hubby and me, I just knew I needed to do some things I’d been putting off. Things at the house, things for my physical and emotional well-being, things that weren’t just about hubby’s medical issues. Widening my perspective to include our relationships, our community, our planet. Our future.

20180101_195359115_iOS

Like my old high school pee-chees, my planner begged to have things taped to it. Poems now, instead of band names and pictures.

I came upon The Inner Guide Planner. It’s a weekly goal planner at its core, but it’s also a journal, a place to store memories, ideas, accomplishments. There are prompts each month and week to set your intentions, note things you’re grateful for, jot down quotes and reflections, and gentle reminders to let others know you appreciate them. It helped me stay mindful of the present while also keeping track of the things I wanted to achieve. I can now look back at 2017 and see what I got done (finished a rug, had a path installed in the yard, #resisted), things I pondered, events I went to, books I read, and areas to continue focus on in 2018. Because of course I didn’t do 100 percent of the things I set out to do, but I can also see that I did a bunch of stuff I didn’t plan on doing. Like taking a drawing class, or writing 10,000 words during NaNoWriMo.

 

20180101_195422614_iOS

A good friend returned the photo on the right to me in the spring and I realized it was a visual for how I wanted to feel. My bestie sent me the card, which reminds to face up to fears defiantly. Stickers courtesy of Peg Cheng’s writing retreat.

This planner helped me be more deliberate in getting the important stuff done, but also seeing there was room for spontaneity. My left brain had the structure it needed, which meant my right brain got some room to play. Planning under the influence of the right brain is a combination I love and my new planner is on its way. An aspiration for 2018 is to dance more – hey, the body needs some time, too, right? I hope you have good things planned for the new year, and that other interesting opportunities will present themselves as well.

 

14 thoughts on “Planning Under the Influence

  1. This is one of those things that seems incredibly obvious–allow your inner self a square or two on the planner–but I never heard of anything like the Inner Guide Planner until I read your post. I wonder if the “2 months and out” cycle on planners (yeah, I’ve done that too) happens, for some of us, because of right brain rebellion. I may have to try this.

    I remember the drawing class having a profound effect on you–you were actually looking at, noticing, the world in a different way. Maybe not surprising–so much of the class was about seeing what’s there, not your preconceptions of what’s there. I think my two self-portraits showed that: the first was hilariously mis-proportioned, and the one near the end of the class actually looked like me.

    Hmm, wonder if there’s going to be a dance class on your planner?

    Like

    • I still cannot imagine how you thought your head was that round and balloony. Maybe one of these days, we’ll have to try it again – if I can stand it. I may get my eyes in the right place and actual-sized one of these times.

      I’ll be interested to hear your experience if you try the planner. Dancing is definitely going on mine, but I’m leaving the class idea open for now. Have you ever taken a dance class?

      Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. My head ballooned because I didn’t draw what I saw. Partly, I turned my face to either side to see more of it (?!?). And, when I measured by holding the pencil at arm’s length, I couldn’t accept that my face was 2.5x longer than it was wide–it seemed freakish. When I did the later portrait, I looked closely, and accepted what I saw. And I was shocked: how many years have I stood before the mirror, editing out the signs of age: spots, wrinkles, folds? I decided, though, to draw what I saw, and went on to do a decent portrait.

    So if your unexpected benefit of drawing class was an altered perception of the world, mine was an altered perception of myself. It helped me accept that I’m becoming old.

    I’ve never taken a dance class, but if I were to take a class, I’d be tempted to take a hip-hop class–it looks really fun, and the gestures are as sharp as a panel in a graphic novel. But an old white guy…well, who knows. (My neighbor is a member of the Massive Monkees, maybe he could advise me.) Anyway, it’s good just to dance, however you do.

    Always a pleasure to read your stuff!

    Like

  3. Love this post, Jeanie. Happy new year!

    BRAVO to you and Ed for taking a drawing class together! That’s a commitment to show up once a week for EIGHT weeks and keep at it, even when you’re not completely satisfied with the results. It’s worth keeping at it, if you enjoy it.

    That saying “What would you do if you could not fail?” is not quite right. The question is, “What would you do even if you did fail?” I think I heard this on a Liz Gilbert podcast, but I also read it in Brian McDonald’s Ink Spots. What do you love enough, enjoy enough, that you would keep doing it even if it ended in multiple metaphorical (or literal, as in the case of a dance class) prat falls? What would you do even if you did fail…over and over again?

    That’s awesome that you found a planner that you like, and that you used this year for the first time past two months. I’m a big fan of planners. I like mine plain with a weekly span over two pages, a certain heft of paper, and a relatively small and light profile. It took me forever to find one for 2018, but I finally did…at the University Bookstore. I don’t know why I didn’t check there before.

    Your Camp NaNoWriMo efforts culminated in writing 50,000 words, not 10,000. Don’t sell yourself short!

    And, if you and Ed do take a hip-hop dance class, let me know. I’m interested. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Peg! I’ve definitely always had gardening as the one thing I do even when I fail – which is pretty often. I just love planting things, seeing them grow…the fails tend to be growing food. It’s so much harder than it seems, but I get excited every spring to see the miracle of tiny seeds sprouting. So many things can go wrong, but it’s still rewarding.

      I can’t believe I forgot it was 50,000 words! I must’ve blocked it out. 😉 Thanks for the reminder. Hip-hop class together, YES!

      Like

      • I love gardening too. But, it took joining the Seattle P-Patch Program a few years ago to get into it. I was never interested in weeding and planting things at home but when Marcus and I got into the P-Patch, it was so nice to have a designated plot just for planting vegetables. And I liked talking, sharing tips, and doing work parties with the other P-Patch gardeners. Like you, I’d do it even if I failed. 😀

        Like

  4. You know, I think we were the only ones to show up for all 8 weeks–maybe more to Jeanie’s credit than mine–but yeah, persistence. I love that quote “What would you do even if you did fail?” I’m awesome at failing on the guitar, but it’s still nourishing, so it’s a lifelong thing.

    Well, you state your intent, and the universe calls your friggin’ bluff. Did you see that item in the Evergrey about the World Dance Party this Friday at 6pm?: “Learn Tahitian, Filipino, Hip-Hop, and more styles of dances in 15 minute mini-lessons…” Where is this, you ask? Why, the Southeast Senior Center, naturally!

    The snapping sound you hear is the jaws of fate closing on my soon to be 60 year-old ass. I mean, I can hear the conversation now:

    “Whassup Ed?”
    “Just going to the Senior Center for my Hip-Hop class.”
    “What, your hip operation class? Yeah, I guess you need to start thinking about that stuff.”

    Oy.

    Like

    • Not sure if art is the thing I’ve found to do even if I fail, but maybe I’m getting to that? I did see the world dance party – not going to go this time because of other plans this week, but did take the tiny step of signing up for their mailing list so I’ll know about future ones. Are you gonna go??? I think your hips will be okay, I’ve told you a million times, don’t exaggerate!

      Like

    • Oh my God, you crack me up so much, Edgy!!!!!!!!!

      “I’ll see you later. I gotta get to my hip-hop class.”
      “Ya mean your hip-OP class?”
      “No, hip-HOP. As in pop and lock and all that.”
      “Yeah, ever since I got my hip replaced, I don’t get pops and locks anymore either. It’s great!”
      {Slaps forehead}

      ps. Kudos on showing up for all 8 weeks of your art class!

      Like

    • Agreed, hope you find it helpful! I like that it has space for random thoughts, and it really helps me to look back on the year as it goes by, to see progress, or just remember things I’ve done. Many a fabulous Friday with the NWBs last year!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Long Winter’s Nap | black cloud reflections

  6. Pingback: Long Winter’s Nap | black cloud reflections

Leave a comment